Mteto Nyati joins Telkom board of directors


The former Altron and MTN CEO has been appointed as an independent non-executive director at Telkom.

Mteto Nyati has been appointed as an independent non-executive director on Telkom’s board, as part of a significant board restructure. In addition, he will also be appointed as a member of the board’s remuneration and nominations committees from next month.

Mteto is a well-known business leader in South Africa, having made his name as the CEO of MTN and later Altron. He has also served as managing director at Microsoft, director of global technology services at IBM, managing consultant at Nampak, and engineering manager at Tastic Rice. He holds a BSc in mechanical engineering from the University of KwaZulu-Natal and has participated in Yale University’s world fellowship programme.

Three other new directors have also been brought in as part of the restructure, including former senior advisor at Nedbank CIB Brian Kennedy, GAIA Infrastructure Capital CEO Prudence Lebina (subject to confirmation), and RSS Trade and Investments group CEO Ipeleng Selele.

They will be taking over from exiting independent non-executive directors Navin Kapila, Fagmeedah Petersen-Cook, Kholeka Mzondeki and Rex Tomlinson.


Related articles

Three CFOs’ guide to managing boardroom expectations

Productivity SA CFO Okuhle Sidumane, Sappi Southern Africa CFO Pramy Moodley and BMI Coverland FD Tammy Narain explain how effective expectation management helps them ensure every engagement with their board is a success.

CFO Brad Wentzel has found a new SPARK

In May, Brad Wentzel became the new CFO of SPARK Schools, a network of private schools offering affordable, globally competitive education.