Previous winners join judges CFO of the Year 2016


Celebrated CFOs Simon Ridley (Standard Bank) and Deon Viljoen (Alexander Forbes) will be joining the panel of judges that will be interviewing and adjudicating the nominees for the 2016 CFO Awards. Simon was crowned CFO of the Year at the inaugural CFO Awards event in 2014 and Deon won the coveted title at last year's black tie extravaganza. CFO South Africa is also delighted to welcome Discovery Health CFO Brett Tromp, winner of both the Young CFO of the Year and High Performance Team Award in 2015, to the panel.

Simon (who is retiring this year), Deon and Brett are some great additions to the panel, that otherwise sees the return of some familiar faces like Carel Smit (Executive Committee member at principal sponsor KPMG), Victor Sekese (CEO at SizweNtsalubaGobodo), Delphine Maïdou (CEO of Allianz GCS Africa), Claudelle von Eck (CEO of The Institute of Internal Auditors South Africa), Prof Ben Marx (Vice-Chairperson Accountancy Department of Faculty of Economic and Financial Sciences of the University of Johannesburg) and Jonathan Lang (Practice Partner and Head of Africa of Bowman Gilfillan Africa Group).

Two other great names on the panel are David Fine (Managing Director of McKinsey South Africa) and Christo Els (Partner at law firm Webber Wentzel), who were both on the 2015 panel. Keep an out for further announcements in the following weeks!

The 2016 CFO Awards Gala Dinner and the CFO Conference will be held on 12 May 2016 at the Summer Place in Hyde Park, Johannesburg. With a host of evocative speakers, round table discussions with top CFOs and the traditional black tie awards event, this is one date in the calendar that no finance leader wants to miss. There is still a limited number of tables available for corporates who want to share a room with South Africa's top echelon of financial decision making. The event is also a great opportunity for CFOs to expose their finance teams to the best and boldest in the industry.

Contact my colleagues below to find out more:

Graham Fehrsen
Managing Director
E: [email protected]
T: +27 79 898 0227

Shay van Huyssteen
Operations and Sales Manager
E. [email protected]
T: +27 82 570 9482

  • Stay connected, up to date and in the loop on what is happening in the world of finance and keep track of newly published expert insights and interviews with CFOs and CEOs. Become an online member and receive our newsletter, follow us on Twitter, like us on Facebook and join us on LinkedIn.

Related articles

Nominate your finance captain for the 2024 CFO Awards!

Nominations for the 2024 CFO Awards are now open. This is your chance to put forward the finance executives who have shown impeccable leadership over the last year, as they could walk away a winner at the annual Oscars of Finance!

The moments that made the 10th annual CFO Awards memorable

Held on the 16th of November at the exclusive Polo Room in Sandton's Inanda Club, the event lived up to its moniker as the “Oscars of Finance”, delivering a spectacular celebration of excellence, innovation, and resilience in the financial sector.