Acting CFO Christelle Janse van Rensburg joins new CSA board as director


Christelle will be incorporated as a director to complete the Cricket South Africa majority independent board.

Cricket South Africa acting CFO Christelle Janse van Rensburg will be incorporated as a director to complete the CSA majority independent board. This was announced on 22 June following the organisation’s AGM on 12 June in a historic event where the cricket body, under a minister-appointed interim board, fought to become the first sporting code in the country to have a majority independent board.

Acting CEO Pholetsi Moseki will also be incorporated as a director of the new board.

The cricket body has elected executive secretary of the Council for the Advancement of the South African Constitution and founding partner of political risk consultancy the Paternoster Group Lawson Naidoo as the board’s chairperson.

“We are all well aware of the challenges facing us in making CSA a world-class sporting organisation, both on and off the field of play,” Lawson said in a statement.

Steven Budlender was elected as the board’s lead independent director, and Norman Arense, Andre Hudson, Simo Lushaba, Andisa Ntsubane, Mark Rayner and Muditambi Ravele have all been appointed as independent directors.

Daniel Governder, John Mogodi, Craig Nel, Tebogo Siko and Simphiwe Ndzundzu have been appointed as non-independent directors.

According to the statement, the new CSA directors are committed to working together in the best interests of the game and the people of South Africa. The board will focus on stabilising CSA and embark on an engagement programme to gain input from stakeholders as it seeks to align everyone towards a shared vision.

Related articles