New board for Eskom


Malegapuru Makgoba and Tshepo Mongalo will join the board of struggling, state-owned Eskom

According to the Public Enterprises Ministry, a permanent board for Eskom has been named, although only two of the nine directors are new.

Malegapuru Makgoba (pictured), South Africa’s health ombudsman and deputy chairman of the National Planning Commission, and Tshepo Mongalo, academic and company-law expert, are the two newcomers. The current acting chairman, Zethembe Khoza, will continue to lead the board until the June AGM.

In a statement, Minister Lynne Brown highlighted several difficulties putting together “a strong board including people of the necessary calibre and leadership gravitas”. She also said she would be “instructing the board that the appointment of a new group chief executive is an absolute priority”.

According to Bloomberg, in a statement on 16 November, acting CEO Sean Maritz said that the power utility had suspended eight members of leadership allegedly involved in irregularities, and also instituted criminal charges against some managers.

Related articles

CFO Innocent Gumbochuma: A strategic revival

South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA) CFO Innocent Gumbochuma shares how he is shaping the financial trajectory of the organisation and has ambitions of setting it on a path of innovation, resilience, and diversified revenue streams.