SA Finance Minister Enoch Godongwana appointed New Development Bank governor


Enoch joins four governors from the rest of the BRICS countries on the New Development Board.

South Africa’s recently appointed Finance Minister Enoch Godongwana has been appointed as a governor of the New Development Bank.

The New Development Bank has a board of five governors, each from five BRICS (Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa) nations. These governors include Brazil’s Minister of Economy Paulo Guedes, Russia’s Minister of Finance Anton Siluanov, India’s Minister of Finance Nirmala Sitharaman, and China’s Minister of Finance Kun Liu.

The bank has also appointed Russian Federation deputy Minister of Finance Timur Maksimov as a chairperson of the board of directors.

Other director appointments include Republic of India’s Department of Economic Affairs additional secretary Rajat Kumar Mishra, People’s Republic of China’s Center for Evaluation of the World Bank Loan Projects deputy director general Bo Zhang, and Republic of India’s Department of Economic Affairs joint secretary Manisha Sinha.

Related articles

IDU to showcase at Finance Indaba

The automation software company joins the line-up of partners for this year’s Finance Indaba, taking place on 10 October.