CFO Awards judging kicks off with three days of nominee interviews


Awards Judges impressed with the calibre of the nominees interviewed ahead of the 15 May ceremony.

The judging for the CFO Awards 2019 kicked off last week in a three-day session of interviews held at Deloitte’s Woodmead headquarters.

During the judging process, top-tier finance professionals who have accepted their nomination were interviewed by a panel of expert judges as they compete for prime position in 10 award categories. Each nominee goes through an intensive two-hour interview with one or two judges and a senior representative of the CFO South Africa editorial team.

[cfocoza-cta slug=book-your-seat-for-the-cfo-awards-on-25-november-2020]

The reports of these interviews are added to the dossier of each CFO and will be used by the judges to determine their votes for the CFO of the Year Awards. The ten sought-after awards will be announced at a gala dinner on 15 May.

Of the 19 nominees, 11 were interviewed over the three days, and the judges came away with a clear idea of the calibre of nominees for the 2019 awards. Ramasela Ganda, CFO: rental and corporate service at Barloworld and winner of the Public Sector CFO of the Year Award in 2017, said that she was impressed with the candidates she had interviewed personally, and looked forward to seeing the full reports from the other interviews.

Herman Bosman, CEO of RMB Holdings & RMI Holdings, and Mteto Nyati, Altron CEO, who both joined the panel this year, were likewise impressed with nominees and revelled in the opportunity for a two-hour engagement with South Africa’s top finance leaders.

Claudelle von Eck, CEO of The Institute of Internal Auditors South Africa, Kevin Black, audit partner at Deloitte Africa, Luvuyo Masinda, head of Global Client Coverage at Standard Bank CIB, and Brett Tromp, CFO of Discovery Health and Young CFO of the Year 2015, made up the cohort of judges in this first round of interviews.

The 2019 nominees include:

  • Andre du Plessis, CFO Capitec Bank
  • Arno Daehnke, Group FD Standard Bank
  • Bothwell Mazarura, CFO Kumba Iron Ore
  • Bridget Radebe, CFO African Rainbow Capital
  • Clifford Appel, CFO Department of Social Development
  • Dion Mhlaba, CFO RH Bophelo
  • Glenn Fullerton, CFO Nampak
  • Hannes Boonzaaier, Group CFO AfroCentric
  • Hennie Nel, CFO Santam
  • Jason Quinn, Group FD Absa
  • Mark Kathan, CFO AECI
  • Masibulele Dem, CFO Hulisani
  • Matthias Vogt, CFO Afrox
  • Nakedi Ramphakela, FD Royal Bafokeng Holdings
  • Nolwazi Mamore, CFO University of Johannesburg
  • Nonkululeko Dlamini, CFO IDC
  • Ralph Mupita, CFO MTN
  • Sizwe Nkosi, CFO Phembani Group
  • Thapelo Mashiane, CFO Gauteng Provincial Government: Office of the Premier

“The energy in the room is palpable, as great minds, great finance professionals and great leaders gathered to put themselves forward for the CFO of the Year Awards,” says John Deane, CFO community manager. “It is exciting for us to see the process begin as professionals of the stature of both the nominees and the judges interact in these intensive interviews. This year’s line-up promises to deliver outstanding results, and we look forward to announcing the winners on 15 May.”

Related articles