Celebrating SA's finance leaders - countdown to 3rd CFO Awards


It is time for tuxedos. It is time for cocktail dresses. It is time to celebrate South Africa's finance leaders during the 3rd annual CFO Awards at the marvelous Summer Place in Hyde Park, Johannesburg. On Thursday 12 May 2016 CFO South Africa will host a spectacular gala dinner, preceded by a high-level conference for the country's best finance directors and chief financial officers. At the end of the evening one of 25 nominees will be crowned CFO of the Year.

The CFO Awards & Conference will see a number of high profile figures add gravity to the event, including master-of ceremonies Vusi Thembekwayo, guest-of-honour and key note speaker Prof Wiseman Nkuhlu, last year's CFO of the Year Deon Viljoen (acting CEO Alexander Forbes, pictured with KPMG South Africa CEO Trevor Hoole), international leadership expert Keith Coats, former world champion baseball coach Brian Farley and CFO South Africa founders Alex van Groningen and Melle Eijckelhoff.

"We have taken over the hard work of Alex and Melle of the last two years, learned what we could and have tried to create an experience and event that will absolutely blow your mind," says CFO South Africa MD Graham Fehrsen, who has been responsible for putting together the programme with operations manager Shay van Huyssteen.

The CFO Awards have quickly become a mainstay on the South African business calendar, with one of the crucial pillars of success under its success the high level of the judging panel for the awards. In 2016 the winners of the 10 awards categories will be determined by Simon Ridley (retired FD Standard Bank & CFO of the Year 2014), Deon Viljoen (acting CEO Alexander Forbes & CFO of the Year 2015) Aarti Takoordeen (CFO JSE Limited & Young CFO of the Year 2014), Brett Tromp (CFO Discovery Health & Young CFO of the Year 2015), Carel Smit (Partner KPMG), Sneha Shah (MD Africa Thomson Reuters), Victor Sekese (CEO SizweNtsalubaGobodo), Delphine Maïdou (CEO Allianz GCS Africa), Claudelle von Eck (CEO The Institute of Internal Auditors South Africa), Christo Els (Senior Partner Webber Wentzel), David Fine (MD McKinsey South Africa), Clement Chinaka (MD Old Mutual Corporate), Jonathan Lang (Head of Africa Bowman Gilfillan Africa) and Ben Marx (Vice-Chairperson Accountancy Department of Faculty of Economic and Financial Sciences of the University of Johannesburg).

The 2016 CFO Awards are made possible by CFO South Africa's principal sponsors KPMG and Standard Bank, as well as awards sponsors Old Mutual, Oracle, Thomson Reuters and SizweNtsalubaGobodo. Additional tables are sponsored by Deloitte, The DTI, Pikitup, RMB and Servest.



Related articles