IIA SA presents Guardian of Governance awards to journalists


The annual Guardian of Governance award has been bestowed upon the eight SABC journalists (dubbed the SABC 8) fired for speaking out against the broadcaster's decision to censor protest coverage.

The awards were handed out during the 20th Annual Southern Africa Internal Audit Conference on Tuesday this week. The Institute of Internal Auditors SA (IIA SA), an organisation headed up by CFO Awards judge, Claudelle Von Eck (pictured), hosted the three-day conference.

The SABC eight include Foeta Krige, Krivani Pillay, Thandeka Gqubule, Busisiwe Ntuli, Lukhanyo Calata, Vuyo Mvoko, and Jacques Steenkamp, as well as the late Suna Venter. The journalists were fired in July last year, after they stood up against then-COO Hlaudi Motsoeneng's decision not to air footage of violent protests.

Related articles