Absa gets new group FD, Deon Raju


Deon Raju, who has spent his entire career at Absa, has been appointed as the bank’s new group FD.

Absa has announced the appointment of Deon Raju as its new group FD, with immediate effect. This comes after Jason Quinn stepped down from the role to pursue a new opportunity as CEO of Nedbank.

Deon will also become a member of the board’s Group Risk and Capital Management Committee, Group Credit Risk, and Information Technology Committees.

Deon has been the group chief risk officer since 1 June 2021. He joined the bank in 1999 as a financial manager after completing his BCom honours degree at the University of KwaZulu-Natal. In 2006, he was promoted to Credit Portfolio manager and, in 2010, he became the Investment Bank treasurer. He was promoted to group treasurer in 2016.

Chris Snyman, who has been serving as interim FD, will step down with immediate effect. Rajal Vaidya (currently chief risk officer at Absa Corporate and Investment Banking) will be appointed interim group chief risk officer. 

Related articles

CFO Brad Wentzel has found a new SPARK

In May, Brad Wentzel became the new CFO of SPARK Schools, a network of private schools offering affordable, globally competitive education.