Unisa CFO Khathutshelo Ramukumba appointed SABC chair


The SABC’s new 12-member board will be chaired by CFO Khathutshelo Ramukumba.

President Cyril Ramaphosa has appointed University of South Africa (Unisa) CFO Khathutshelo Ramukumba as the chairperson of the new South African Broadcasting Corporation (SABC) board.

He will be leading a board made up of 12 members, including the board’s deputy chairperson Nomvuyiso Batyi, Dr Rene Horne, Mpho Tsedu, Adv Tseliso Thipanyane, Phathiswa Magopeni, Aigheli Makhwanya, Magdalene Moonsamy, Rearabetsoe Motaung, David Maimela, Dinkwanyane Mohuba, and Palesa Kadi.

“The SABC is a vital institution of our constitutional democracy. I trust the newly appointed board members will work hard at ensuring that South Africa continues to benefit from a stable, independent and effective national public broadcaster,” the president said.

Khathutshelo has previously served as the CEO and CFO of the National Youth Development Agency. Before that, he was the group internal audit manager for Rand Water. He completed his articles at the Office of the Auditor General of South Africa.

He has an advanced certificate in banking and financial support services from Milpark Business School, an MBA from Henley Business School, a project management degree from the North-West University and a BCom honours in financial accounting from the University of KwaZulu-Natal.

The SABC has been without a board since the previous board’s term ended in October 2022. This was due to various delays, after the president questioned the three “reserve pool” names that parliament had included in its recommended board members list.

Related articles

CFO Brad Wentzel has found a new SPARK

In May, Brad Wentzel became the new CFO of SPARK Schools, a network of private schools offering affordable, globally competitive education.