A celebration of the power of finance: CFO Awards interviews in full swing


The esteemed panel of judges of the CFO Awards chatted to the majority of the 2018 nominees during a jam-packed interview week, hosted at the Sandton offices of law firm Webber Wentzel.

Judges were in awe of the depth and diversity displayed by the nominees for the 2018 CFO Awards during the interview round that took place from 29 to 31 January. The two-hour long conversations are guided by a standard set of questions and play a crucial role for the judging panel to determine the winners of the ten awards.

After the first seven nominees appeared before representatives of the judging panel on Monday (read about it here), another ten shared their stories on Tuesday and Wednesday, including Ajith Haripaul (EY), Silindile Kubheka (National Treasury), Joe Ndala (AECOM), Wayne Koonin (Omnia), Jan Hofmeyr (OUTsurance), Liaan Kretzschmar (Jaguar Land Rover), Nonkululeko Dlamini (IDC), Alvin Liew (Laureate) Peter Walsh (Servest) and Michelle Pienaar (Marsh).

[cfocoza-cta slug=book-your-seat-for-the-cfo-awards-on-25-november-2020]

Between January and March 2018, CFO South Africa and the judging panel interview all nominated CFOs to get a clear picture of his or her drive, motivation, vision and results. The reports of these interviews will be added to the dossier of each CFO and will be used by the judges to determine their individual votes.

The goal of the interview is to get insight in the CFO’s involvement in the overall success of the company and the way he or she has distinguished himself or herself. To help structure the interview, and to make sure the same issues are addressed in each interview, there is a standard set of interview questions as a guideline.

In the second week of April 2018, judges receive the dossiers with interviews and extra background information. Judges will be asked to score each CFO on the shortlist on a scale from 1 to 10 in the category they are eligible for, which will be clearly indicated on the scorecard. By adding up all the points the winner for each award category is determined.

Integrity of the awards
Integrity and ethical conduct are crucial assets of good leaders. In times where both the public and private sector are subject to important scrutiny, CFO Award winners need to be role models and shining lights of excellence. In this light, CFO South Africa reserves the right to publicly suspend or revoke CFO Awards. This will happen, in consultation with the panel judges, if information about a CFO Awards winner becomes available that is damaging to the stature and integrity of the CFO Awards.

[cfocoza-cta slug=book-your-seat-for-the-cfo-awards-on-25-november-2020]

Judging panel

  • Aarti Takoordeen, CFO JSE Limited & Young CFO of the Year 2014
  • Ben Marx, HOD Department of Accountancy University of Johannesburg
  • Brett Tromp, CFO Discovery Health & Young CFO of the Year 2015
  • Carel Smit, Executive Committee Member KPMG South Africa
  • Christo Els, Senior Partner Webber Wentzel
  • Claudelle von Eck, CEO The Institute of Internal Auditors South Africa
  • Deon Viljoen, Group CFO Alexander Forbes & CFO of the Year 2015
  • Kevin Black, Africa Clients and Industries Leader, Deloitte
  • Leon Crouse, Former CFO Remgro & Vodacom
  • Mary Vilakazi, Deputy CEO MMI Holdings
  • Simon Ridley, Former Group CFO Standard Bank & CFO of the Year 2014
  • Sneha Shah, Managing Director Africa Thomson Reuters
  • Victor Sekese, CEO SizweNtsalubaGobodo
  • Wiseman Nkuhlu, Chancellor of the University of Pretoria

Related articles