Meet Wayne Koonin (Omnia), winner of the Finance & Technology Award


Wayne Koonin, CFO of Omnia, led a strategy to implement a new, company-wide ERP system and IT platform as a basis for taking the business to a new level. For this, Wayne won the Finance & Technology Award at the recent CFO Awards, held on 11 May at Summer Place in Johannesburg.

[cfocoza-cta slug=book-your-seat-for-the-cfo-awards-on-25-november-2020]

Receiving his award, Wayne said:

“Wow. I don’t know what to say. I’m really honoured. Thank you to the CFO community for all the support I’ve had. This award is not about me. It’s about the incredible team that sits behind me and has been with me for many years, and which followe an incredible journey to transform Omnia. This award goes out to my team.”

A former financial and executive director at Coal of Africa, and CFO at both Platmin and Ivanhoe Nickel and Platinum, Wayne has an extensive legal and financial background and has served at board level in a number of sectors. He has had exposure to various international regulatory issues, reporting standards and transactions, and has developed a portfolio of experience covering IT, legal, corporate finance and strategy. He was appointed to the Omnia board in April 2014.

A CA(SA) who qualified in 1997 and who studied at the universities of the Witwatersrand and Toronto, Wayne has earned a reputation for his innovative business process restructuring and commitment to digital transformation, for which he has been invited to engage with Microsoft’s leadership in the past.

Unlike many of his peers, Wayne has had the opportunity to be involved in many corporate turnarounds, dealing with a range of very complex issues in the process. 2017 was the second year that Wayne was nominated for the CFO Awards for his work at Omnia.

The annual 'Oscars for South African CFOs', recognise CFOs of listed companies, large corporations, state-owned entities and government institutions, and awards them for outstanding performance and leadership. Other winners included Till Streichert, Nishant Saxena, Ramasela Ganda, Nishlan Samujh, Garry Pita, and Debbie Ransby.

Related articles